Option not registered in plugin (Trustindex class)Option not registered in plugin (Trustindex class) Reviews - Ostan Loch Altan

Léirmheasanna - Reviews

trip-advisor-logo-png
C_and_H_11
C_and_H_11
2020-10-03
Verified
A Really Lovely Stay We recently returned from a very comfortable stay at Hotel Loch Altan, situated in Gortahork, right in the heart of the Donegal Gaeltacht. This was our first stay in this hotel but it will not be our last! The welcome, friendliness of the staff & service were second to none. The food was excellent & always very well presented & portions were good. There were a couple of menus to choose from, reasonably priced & excellent options, so needless to say we dined here on each night of our stay & we were never disappointed. Everything is freshly prepared, locally sourced where possible, tasty & very well presented. The breakfast menu was also very good. Our room was really comfortable & pristinely maintained on a daily basis. Each & every member of staff we encountered was so friendly, welcoming & efficient & their good humour just added to the very pleasant atmosphere around this hotel. Even during these Covid times the staff did not falter with their good spirits & attention to detail, from reception right through to all the waiting staff. Which brings us to Loch Altan's Covid policy, which is spot on, adhering to all the safely guidelines. There was just one thing that we feel could be followed up - we noted there was a group of people (from another jurisdiction) who didn't wear masks (as the hotel requests on entering the hotel/ when moving around/leaving the table etc) so if someone could take the initiative to approach guests like this & ask them to adhere to the rules for everyone's sake, then they could not possibly refuse. We & others had to move a couple of times to distance ourselves as they were crowding the area. The staff were always really busy so perhaps didn't have time to take note, & other than this one situation the hotel could not do any more to help customers feel safe & comfortable during these challenging times, from the moment we entered the hotel right throughout our entire visit. It was really most unfortunate a lockdown for Co Donegal was soon to come, but hopefully it won't be for long & things will soon be up & running as normal again. The management & staff at this hotel really deserve to have the business running constantly as they all work so hard & there's a great community spirit. We would highly recommend a stay here & really look forward to our next visit to the Loch Altan, hopefully in the not too distant future!
Robbie489
Robbie489
2020-09-27
Verified
A very positive experience My sister and I have just returned from a lovely break in Gortahork which was made even more special by our stay in this wonderful hotel. It is very well-managed and could provide an example to all hotels on how to keep guests safe during a pandemic. Everything was spotless, the staff were always accommodating and the evening meal we had on our second evening was delicious. During our stay the higher level restrictions came in for all of Donegal and I felt really sorry for all the people working in the hotel who had already done their utmost to adhere to Covid 19 guidelines and were once again going to be out of a job. I can not recommend this hotel highly enough for the warm welcome it extends to its guests.
Claire M
Claire M
2020-09-14
Verified
Relaxing weekend Stayed here for 2 nights on a Groupon deal last weekend. Let’s get the not so great things out of way firstly- hotel is dated and needs updating with a few holes in roof and blinds falling apart in room. On plus side staff are really friendly and food is great with lots of selections. Rooms are a good size and are clean and tidy. Covid restrictions were all followed and in place from when you enter hotel.
tandwhudd
tandwhudd
2020-09-14
Verified
2 night break Just back from a 2 night Groupon deal, the Hotel is very well run with Covid restrictions firmly in place and adhered to ... food was fantastic, every member of staff were so helpful - from reception, ladies serving breakfast and bar staff but a special shout out to 2 young waiting staff CORA & CATHAL who worked non stop, they were so polite to everyone despite obvious pressure, great workers !! Would definitely return.
Anne Marie N
Anne Marie N
2020-09-09
Verified
Surprisingly Super Wild Atlantic Way stop over. We booked to stay here two nights while discovering the Northern part of Donegal. We were surprisingly impressed with the Hotel.The Staff were Excellent. Super friendly and Efficient. The Dinner was excellent. We both had starters and The Roast . It was hearty and just what was required after a day of Discovery in Donegal.The room was nice and clean and prefect to put the head down after a busy day. Shout out to Shauna who was able to sort out our stay. The breakfast was fantastic and the ladies who worked in the breakfast bar where so helpful and friendly and went above an beyond to serve the best breakfast in a cvoid friendly environment. Thank you staff & hotel. Great place to Stay. We hope to visit again.
James K
James K
2020-08-18
Verified
Solid A welcoming hotel in these troubled times clean and tidy plenty of parking . After an active few days was nice to find a great welcome to the area. We used it as a travel break day from travelling around Donegal Had dinner in the bar great staff, dinner was good and a few pints was a good vibe about the place . Slept well and after an early and great breakfast back on the road. Very nice staff not a bother for anything.
Anne B
Anne B
2020-08-15
Verified
Amazing staff We stayed here as a family of 6 adults in August. We had an amazing 3 nights in the hotel. Ok let's get the negatives out of the way.. the water for all our showers was a bit hit and miss and the rooms are a bit dated. But that did not deter from an absolutely brilliant break away. The protocols for dealing with covid were all in place. I never felt worried or at ease throughout the 3 days. The staff in this hotel are absolutely amazing. They are all so pleasant and helpful. We are all still getting used to the times we are in but I have to say I really felt it was like as near normal times as you could get staying here and still feeling safe. Breakfast was perfect and we had dinner in hotel on 2 of the nights and it was fab. We decided to eat out somewhere different on last night, just for a change, and we were sorry we did. We took boat trip to Tory Island and I would highly recommend it. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful staycation.
maryherrity
maryherrity
2020-08-13
Verified
Great 50th anniversary had 3 great nights .breakfast was excellent. We are the owners of a bed and breakfast soo we know our stuff. Great quality food. Dinner was first class. Staff were great at there job. Very clean.looking forward to going back.thank you.herrity/ryan family letterkenny.
mariaDublin55
mariaDublin55
2020-07-27
Verified
Fabulous stay at Ostan Loch Altan We stayed at Ostan Loch Altan at the weekend, the staff were so pleasant and helpful, the rooms were spotlessly clean, the breakfast gorgeous, the staff attending breakfast were so attentive, there was such a nice atmosphere, anything we asked for was not a problem, the General Manager was so helpful in taking time out to help us plan our weekend, the bar food was excellent, we ate there all weekend, I will be booking another stay there very shortly and would highly recommend this hotel
google-review
John Smith
John Smith
2021-02-17
Verified
Food is fantastic , staff are brilliant and friendly
catriona mcdaid
catriona mcdaid
2021-01-23
Verified
Great hotel with great staff
Linda McCracken
Linda McCracken
2020-09-28
Verified
Really good food, good value, a quiet location but surrounding area stunning. Thoroughly enjoyed.
Kenneth Moulds
Kenneth Moulds
2020-09-25
Verified
Great find. Lovely food, staff friendly, rooms clean and spacious.
K S
K S
2020-09-24
Verified
Incredible food! The staff were friendly and accommodating to our needs. The hotel has proper precautions in place to reassure safety for guests. I'd definitely go back!
bookingcom
ERROR
CSS file could not saved.
1280px-Hotels.com_logo.svg
John
John
2020-09-12
10
Verified
Great spot
Peter
Peter
2020-08-26
8.0
Verified
Good value for the price Very helpful staff. Hotel clean but could do with some updating. Good value, though.
Kathleen
Kathleen
2020-07-25
8.0
Verified
Lovely hotel. Staff excellent. It’s in a great location to travel around donegal. Room was very clean. Would stay there again
Reviewer
Reviewer
2020-07-16
10
Verified
Worth Staying For The Power Shower Alone! Covid measures in place throughout hotel. Bar food and breakfast both very nice. Fantastic power shower in room!
Alan
Alan
2020-03-03
10
Verified
Family holiday I had a very enjoyable stay here. Beautiful clean bedrooms, staff very helpful and fab breakfast
A D
A D
2019-12-27
10
Verified
Relaxing stay. Very comfortable 3 star hotel,very friendly staff and very good food.The hotel is situated in a lovely little village ,close to very good beaches and beautiful scenery.
Reviewer
Reviewer
2019-12-24
10
Verified
The staggered stay was excellent. The staff the most friendly I have met working in a hotel. They always went the extra mile to ensure all was good and that I was cared for. Meals were excellent and reasonably priced and the guinness too nice for my rate of consumption. Breakfasts were nice and quantifiable. Nothing bad to say at all.
Robert
Robert
2019-12-05
8.0
Verified
The staff were very welcoming, friendly and attentive during my stay. The food in the bar, along with breakfast was first class. My only constructive suggestion would be to have the mattresses updated to a more comfortable one. I expect this would pay huge dividends going forward. I will return next time I’m in the area.
Reviewer
Reviewer
2019-11-22
10
Verified
Staff excellent. Everyone was helpful and very friendly.
Scroll to Top